Any nickname/s?

When did you start CrossFit?
January 2014.

How did you get into functional fitness training?
My mom actually joined a CrossFit box in Joburg and told me I should give it a go. After about 3 months of putting it off I eventually booked myself an intro session at my local box. The rest is history.

What was your first training experience (first class/intro) like?
It was both horrific and amazing at the same time! I went out the gates way too hot on my first WOD, ended up scaling the rest of the movements to the max, and finished the workout in a dismal time. After a quick visit to the bathroom to expel some demons and a power nap on the entrance counter, I was able to hobble down the steps and sit in my car for 30 minutes before leaving the parking lot. I was back the next day for my second session with drive to never feel like that ever again.

How long have you been coaching at The Bloc?
Since December 2016.

What is your favourite thing about coaching at The Bloc?
The people make it the most amazing environment to coach in. Standing in front of a class knowing that all the people looking at me are there to learn something is what keeps me on my toes all the time. I live for the moments when I’m able to teach somebody something that allows them to do things they never imagined was possible. The fact that we’re such a community and social box also allows for us to have a laugh and share a few jokes in classes, which makes everyones experience a lot more pleasurable.

If you could have any other job in the world, what would it be?
I’d be a vlogger who travels the world doing all sorts of extreme activities, coaching people and teaching kids. Anything that involved a whole lot of learning, practicing and then teaching. Being able to do it spending time in different parts of the world and getting funded just by people watching the experience would be amazing.

What are your favourite and least favourite WODs/movements?
I love the barbell! Always keen to do a bit of weightlifting.
Not a big fan of burpees

Describe yourself in 3 words
Driven. Kind. Fair.

What emoji do you use the most?

What do you do for fun?
I’m a very hands on person. When I’m not at the box, you’ll probably find me in the garage building something, working on a project bike, or just fixing and fiddling. I hate being bored.

What is one thing you couldn’t live without?
Definitely my wife, Julia.
She is my go to lady in any situation. She makes sure I eat enough, sleep enough, play hard, but work harder. She keeps me focused and makes sure I push to be the best version of myself every day.